Slowly but surely, on with the cabin build we go

DSC09502

Here is the latest shot of the pallet cabin. We have ran into more winter weather here in the Ozarks and so we are at a stopping point a while. Hard to work in blowing snow, 7 degree wind chill temps with 30 MPH winds and temps at 21 degrees! Not to mention the wood has been so wet for so long, the cold front came in over night and just froze everything solid. We can not even scrap the ground to get compost toilet cover, let alone work in these conditions. I guess if the damn sun would just decide to show it’s face ONE time, it would not be so bad.

I may be dealing with some winter time blues, a little depression and feelings of discontent but what else can happen to a man on a mission without the skills to do this job but all the necessary heart? I live in the forest, I have for 5 years and I have watched as society around me deteriorates even more. I am happy to be in the forest, off grid and will not give up. We do have the main cabin framed, the bedroom framed and the walls are slowly being covered with wood, but it is just not happening fast enough for me.

DSC09505

Here are the walls in the bedroom, already starting on the second level. We didn’t think about it when we started putting up the 2nd level walls in the main part but we needed to connect the walls at the bottom all the way around the cabin, so room to room and we didn’t do it. So we had to be creative when attaching the bedroom wall, there in the picture, to the main cabin wall (lower half). Hope that makes since. We eventually fixed the issue and now I am seeing that I need to use 2×6’s instead of 2×4’s for the door frames.

These pallets with boards on each side are wider than ordinary 2×4’s. This makes it so if I use 2×4’s that I will be stuck trying to figure out how to cover space around the 2×4. As it is, the door frame covers the opening to the pallets at the doors. So some 2×4’s will have to be replaced, but it’s alright, 2×6 pieces are not hard to come by with pallet wood. I can always just take 2 or 3 6 inch wide boards and make the 2×6 I need as well. Most of the pallets are built out of hard, strong wood.

DSC09504

Here is a shot of the bedroom looking from inside the main cabin room. We almost have all the walls on that room framed and some of it is already covered with boards.

DSC09503

This is the front of the cabin. Still have to cover the top part with boards and put a 12 foot 2×4 on the very top which will frame the top of the door and prepare the walls to receive the ceiling joists. The ceiling joists will be 2×6’s and be flat. Then we will put a peak on it, A frame style. Makes us a nice attic where we can store stuff and in winter we can use it as a cold storage if I put a window in it to control the air temp. After the walls are all covered the whole cabin will be wrapped with tar paper and then I will cover that with either more boards or thinking of covering it with log halves.

If you go to a saw mill you can get the pieces they cut off and when you put those as a wall covering it looks like it was built with logs, very nice. Usually cheap prices too. Well friends, I hope you are all doing well. Stacy warm in this frigid weather!

4 thoughts on “Slowly but surely, on with the cabin build we go

  1. Pingback: Slowly but surely, on with the cabin build we go | Stacy's Articles

  2. I wish you all the good luck in the world, with the cabin project, but I have a couple of concerns. You are talking about a second level on the cabin, but I see pallets stacked 2 high and nailed together. Are you not worried that they could buckle under the weight of the roof? You know, if one side goes, the rest will soon follow.
    Next concern is with your statement about laying 2 x 6’s flat for the ceiling joists, with storage above. With all due respect, There ain’t NO way I’d do that! A 2 x 6 on edge is VERY strong, but laid flat, not so much, particularly considering the knots in the wood. That’s where the break will occur, when and if it does.
    I am no expert, but I HAVE built a couple of things, and some of the old ways are best. Just don’t expect todays’ lumber to be up to the standards of yesteryear. It used to be full measure, where now, we lose a fair amount to planing at the mill. The growth rings were closer together in the older stuff, but now, they use a fast growing wood with fat growth rings and less strength.
    Anyway, good luck!

    • Hi Larry, so glad you commented, lol Very happy to rebuttal here so we can sort this out πŸ˜› I will just quote what I was said to write and place my comment after it…

      1- “You are talking about a second level on the cabin”- No, this is it, no second level.

      “laying 2 x 6’s flat for the ceiling joists”- I wrote that?? LOL going now to fix that TYPO

      Thanks for following Larry! And finding that typo πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

